About LIT

Limerick Institute of Technology (LIT) is an institution of higher education in Limerick, Ireland and is one of 14 member institutions of the Technological Higher Education Association (THEA). The Institute has campuses in Limerick city, one in both Thurles and Clonmel in County Tipperary and a regional learning centre in Ennis, County Clare. The main campus is located at Moylish Park adjacent to Thomond Park and houses the Faculty of Applied Science, Engineering and Technology and the School of Business and Humanities. The School of Art & Design is located at the Clare Street and Clonmel campuses.

LIT offers courses at Level 6 (certificate) through Level 10 (PhD) whilst also catering for craft apprentices and adult and continuing education. The Institute has twice been named as The Sunday Times Institute of Technology of the Year in The Sunday Times University Guide, firstly in 2008 and again in 2013.

LIT is to the forefront in ensuring that the region's economy continues to have the requisite array of leading-edge skills demanded by our knowledge-based industries. In 2017, LIT was granted permission to develop a new campus at Coonagh in Limerick, to be focused on teaching and research in engineering.

Educational Philosophy

LIT has a distinctive approach to Teaching and Learning known as the Active Learning philosophy. Whatever discipline area is offered the core methodology is active and practical; lab work, studio work, case studies, field visits, group assignments and more. 

This approach to teaching and learning is embedded in assessment strategies and campus development so that the learning environment reflects the identity of LIT. It is also underpinned by staff developments, e.g. workshops and an online repository of active learning strategies.

More details of the Teaching, Learning and Assessment Strategy and the Quality Assurance procedures can be found through this link.


The genesis of LIT was the Limerick School of Ornamental Art set up in 1852 when the Athenaeum Society started a School of Arts and Fine Crafts in Limerick. In 1963 a series of technical colleges, to be known as Regional Technical Colleges (RTCs) was announced by the then Minister for Education, Patrick Hillery and the first of the RTCs were opened in Athlone, Carlow, Dundalk, Sligo and Waterford in 1970. 

A regional technical college for Limerick followed in 1974, initially under the name Limerick College of Art, Commerce and Technology (CoACT). CoACT was upgraded to Institute of Technology status in 1997, along with the restof the RTCs. In 1999 LIT was awarded delegated authority by the Higher Education and Training Awards Council, which allows the institute to award its own bachelors, masters and doctorates degrees. 

In 2011, following a government decision, the former Tipperary Institute was integrated into LIT, significantly enhancing and enlarging the education provision of the institute.

Stay up-to-daye